New Zealand Travel Testimonials
Breadcrumb

Discover New Zealand Touring Holiday Reviews

Read our customer feedback - over 700 reviews

We're proud to have shown thousands of people  from all over the world around New Zealand. Read what they have to say about their Discover New Zealand Experience.

Check out our Google Reviews
Google reviews

4.9

Google Overall Rating
Discover New Zealand

As a couple of Aussies, we have just spent April self driving both islands of New Zealand. I have never been to New Zealand, so with the help of Discover New Zealand and in turn New Zealand Fine...
Read more

Discover New Zealand and Petra helped make our tour in NZland amazing. From the beginning Petra was attentive and available. We spoke many times before the trip. She was always patient and kind...
Read more

Had an absolutely amazing trip with Discover New Zealand. Everything went like clockwork and we had no worries about our booking for the whole month. Christina Brockie organised everything that...
Read more

When we decided on a 19 day self-driving trip to New Zealand, I searched internet and came across Discover New Zealand website. The example itineraries are very close to what I had in mind. I...
Read more

Nichole did amazing job of organising a suitable itinerary for our 3 week self drive adventure. We did both islands, accommodation and some activities pre booked. No problems with any bookings...
Read more

Or see our direct feedback
Testimonial list
Scott & Vicki Hansen, North Island Custom tour for Scott, Travelled on 6 May 2024

Well, Jon, the tour is done. Vicki and I would like to say that we had the best time. The itinerary was absolutely perfect for our limited time availability, but we will definitely be back. All the accommodation was perfect as was the locations. We really want to see Napier in February so will keep that in mind for future plans. Lastly to you personally, thank you so much for the arrangements made. Scott & Vicki

Katharine Real, Lord of the Rings Scenic Explorer V2 inc. Rotorua, Travelled on 11 April 2024

I had such an amazing time on my trip, it was truly the best trip of my life. Owen did an incredible job, I couldn't have wished for anything better.

Fiona & Philip Hawkey, The Southern Circuit self drive tour, Travelled on 31 March

Hello Petra, My apologies for not doing this sooner, there’s been a few things happening at our part of the world. Nothing serious, just stuff! We would like to compliment you on your work as a consultant, we have no complaints at all. You were very prompt in replying to any query we had. You also made recommendations when we expressed an interest in something particular. We were very happy with all our accommodation with location and facilities - you listened to us when we said we wanted a microwave and toaster in our accommodation and delivered on that. In fact, may we say all the properties were excellent for cleanliness, comfort, facilities and location. We didn’t have any problems in any way with checking in at accommodation or activities or being picked up for the airport. Everything went smoothly. Apart from not having a GPS and having to get a SIM card connected which I suspect was a hire car issue, all the driving was straightforward and the distances were within our expectations. The quality of the car was excellent and we appreciated it being drop off to us. We were also very grateful for your team’s assistance when there was a road closure near Franz Josef and for the recommendations that were made to us. As we didn’t have local knowledge, we didn’t know exactly what to do when we heard on the news of significant weather events. We were very grateful to your team in reorganising accommodation and following up on cancelled activity refunds. We really enjoyed our trip and hope in a couple of years to come back to New Zealand and explore the North Island. If we do so, we will definitely be in touch. If there was one thing we would change it would have been to build in an extra day or so in some of the lovely locations we visited. We enjoy just getting up in the morning and going for a wander and not having a busy day. But perhaps that was something we need to be mindful of next time. Many, many thanks for all your assistance Petra, you did a wonderful job. I haven’t uploaded any photos as Phil is the photographer and always at present but maybe I can get him to pick out some choice ones. Kind regards. Fiona Hawkey for Phil and myself

Pamela & Carl Addamo, Southern Highlights Wellington to the Southern Alps V2, Travelled on 18 Apr 2024

This was a trip of a lifetime. Owen catered our trip down to a tee. We got exactly what we asked for and more. We are older travellers and Owen packed our itinerary and made everything easy. From the ferry to the flight home, Owen built a trip that was jammed. The app is easy. The tips along the way made sure we saw everything possible. The hotels were first class and again exactly what we asked for (a mixture of first class and boutique, all with a view, all within easy distance of experiences) We were upgraded and treated brilliantly. We knew exactly what we were getting and we got it with so many extras. Everything was timed to perfection so we had no problems travelling to our next venue. The only issue was with the car that didn't have a sat nav and we had problems connecting the phone but there are maps in every information centre and the app told us exactly where to go. If you like to drive and see as much as you can, I recommend my itinerary to everyone. I also recommend Owen as your preferred travel agent. He is very knowledgeable and the trip was worth every penny. The route he chose was breathtaking and the last leg, the Greymouth train was a great and a great way to wind down and relax (the roast lamb dinner was brilliant). The highlights; Helicopter ride and landing on Franz Josef glacier, Milford Sound, Jet Boating, Mount Cook resort with Stargazing. Every turn brought another vista, another rainbow, another spectacular event. Well done Owen for getting it so right.

Kerrie & Gerard Cooke with Elizabeth Cooke & Margaret McRae, South Island Encounter, Travelled on 5 Apr 2024

Hi Louise, kia ora and thank you so much from all of us for the information sent and the reference numbers, everything went so smoothly wherever we went/arrived. Accommodation great, food plentiful, APP was helpful, NZ people so friendly and kind to us, South Island is dramatic, majestic and a pure delight to the eye & mind...WOW. My husband and I would love to explore the North Island sometime & the Ultimate North Island look very enticing. Kind regards, Kerrie

Arnold & Susan McKinley, Ultimate New Zealand 42 Day Self Drive Tour, Travelled on 14 February 2024

We had a lovely time following a very clear and well considered itinerary around the south and north islands. We arrived 14 February 2024 and from that day on we felt that Louise Hodges, our consultant, was there with us, watching to be sure everything went well - and it did! All the motels and hotels where we were to stay for the night expected us and every event we were meant to experience expected us. We thank you for a beautiful holiday. Louise had originally designed an itinerary that took us around the north island first and into a number of events and luxury hotels with which we weren’t comfortable. Within a week, Louise had redesigned, giving us a tour that fit us well. We were particularly happy with the phone app that guided us around the islands. It was spot on and full of information. We were able to find the additional events that we wanted to see and find walks through sanctuaries and national parks that fit our time and our interests. So job well done.

Naomi W. (Noni) Guddie, Middle Earth New Zealand and Sydney, Australia, Travelled on 6 April 2024

Morning Angela, Just wanted to give you a quick update. Everything was perfect on the trip, even with the lack of cooperation from Mother Nature. I ended coming home with a cold. Someone was coughing all night on the flight from Sydney to Honolulu. I'm back up and running and as soon as I get the 1,500 to 2,000 pictures off my camera that I took, I will send you a couple of photos, providing they turn out. The trip and your arrangements were great, well done, thank you. wish I would have had more time in Australia, next time would like to go to Perth, everyone has said it's worth the trip. Again, I thank you so much for setting up a great itinerary. Several of my friends here have asked for your name and address since I have been raving about the great job you did for me, so don't be surprised if you get a few inquiries from Wisconsin. Noni G.

Keith and Trent Herndon, South Island Discovery Tour + Auckland, Travelled on 7 April 2024

Owen, Thanks for the opportunity to share my feedback. I really appreciated the work you did to pull together a spectacular trip to New Zealand. You had great listening skills and immediately developed two potential itineraries that had all of the elements of fun, hiking, variety, and great accommodations. Interfacing with you via email and a quick conference call was simple and efficient. I appreciate the fact that I could formally schedule time on your calendar. Your email responses were quick and informative. Once we were on the trip and we had weather related challenges you reached out proactively so we could begin to re-plan. The dialogue/discussions on alternatives were appreciated and when you were out of the office your associates were up to speed on the issues and were able to respond on your behalf. Overall, it was an incredible and fun adventure. It is not too often that a dad gets to run around with his 25 year old son. You made this a phenomenal and memorable experience that both of us will remember for years to come. Thanks, Keith

David Talbot & Jennifer Lombardo, Your North Island Tour, Travelled on 10 October 2024

Hi Lisa. Thank you for organising our trip. Everything went very smoothly with no issues. We thoroughly enjoyed our New Zealand holiday & really appreciated your support & input, A couple of minor points: - the accommodation in Rotorua was in an industrial area & a bit far from the city centre. -the Huka Falls cruise was a bit unnecessary considering that a better view of the falls was from the walking track. We did Waitomo Caves which was a great experience. The Māori Village & Hells Gate were great. Thanks again. Regards, David Talbot & Jenny Lombardo.

Steve and Alison Pascoe, Steve's New Zealand Adventure, Travelled on 27 March 2024

Hi Neisha. We’re back home now and slowly getting back into our home life. We wanted to thank you for your support and excellent service in our trip around South Island. Everything for our trip was organised perfectly!! I usually expect some challenges with bookings, something not communicated, systems failures, lost info, etc. But all was perfect! Amazing! We had such a good trip and timing was perfect. Managed to complete all our West Coast adventures in stunning weather and escaped just before the deluge and road closures. The accommodation you chose for us was, for the most part, terrific. The Christchurch accommodations were OK but all were small, poky and very basic motel rooms. Really appreciated you moving us to the Quest on Cambridge in Christchurch for our last few days in Christchurch. Terrific accommodation and a great base for touring the city. The Touring app was terrific. Had everything that we needed and constantly updated. Again, thank you so much for all your organising, Made our trip stress-free and easy. Had a fantastic time and lots on wonderful memories. Best wishes, Steve and Ali Pascoe.

Graeme & Sola Trott, 15 day Coastal Explorer, Travelled on 2 Apr 2024

All arrangements were perfect as per the itinerary. Thank you.

Alan Grist, Northbound Self Drive Tour, Travelled on 12 Mar 2024

Thank you for your assistance and experience to help make my recent New Zealand self drive tour a enjoyable experience. I travelled the south and north island from tip to tow and experience the fantastic natural beauty of New Zealand along the way. Highlights from Milford Sound, the farmland and hedges, hot springs, cold water and views to enjoy combined with adventures like zip lines, jet boats or just chilling all with a high standard of accommodation. The Hire car experience from Eurocar was also trouble free and I would recommend this company. My few inquiries during my trip were all resolved efficiently and thank you for your Professional assistance - Regards Alan Grist

David Yates, The Southern Circuit Self Drive Tour, Travelled on 1 Apr 2024

Harriet, Thanks for the itinerary for my NZ trip. Except for the issues at the end with the really bad weather around Franz Josef. You did jump in quickly gave me some options and took care of the bookings. Thanks also for the efficient way you took care of the refunds and changed bookings..I had a great time and NZ is wonderful place to holiday. Thanks again for the help and guidance. Cheers David

Dirk Wehling & Sylke Schauer, Custom Best of Both Islands Tour!, Travelled on 11 Mar 2024

Hi Jon, thanks again for the great organisation and help of our wonderful trip through NZ! We had a fantastic vacation!!! Organisation was top, your tips and recommendations highly appreciated and everything went smoothly while travelling (ever the organisation of great weather worked :-) ). We'll definitely will recommend you! Thanks, Dirk & Sylke

Toni and Mark Mulholland, Southern Highlights 9 Day Tour, Travelled on 12 Apr 2024

Jon you did a great job on our itinerary thank you. Everything went so smoothly. No hassles at all with our airport pick ups, car hire, checking into our accommodation and tour bookings. The itinerary was really well worked out and (once we worked out we needed to allow extra time for the ubiquitous roadworks) we got to where we wanted to be without rushing or being late. A wonderful trip 🤩